The Sequel by Walter Scott

It was the night of the carnival. He had found me in the streets, dazed with wine, and, pretending that he wanted my judgment on a cask of sherry, had lured my staggering feet into the gloomy passages under his palazzo. And he had brought me into this narrow niche in the castle walls to entomb me alive where no one would ever find me. It was clever!

My memory fails me now, but I doubt not I cried out many times for pity and mercy; and I take no shame in thinking this may have been so. I recall his words and his horrible mouthings as he worked with more haste and zeal than skill.

But I was a brave man always. I did not yield myself to fate. It was unthinkable. I, Fortunato, to die walled in by Montresor! I cursed him and his line. I wrenched at the chain with ferocious strength, more eager to have[120] him by the throat than to be free to live. I called upon all the saints and particularly to my patron saint. You shall see that I was not unheard.

Sir Walter Scott, 1st Baronet FRSE FSAScot, born 15 August 1771 and died 21 September 1832, was a Scottish novelist, poet and historian. Many of his works remain classics of European and Scottish literature, notably the novels Ivanhoe (1819), Rob Roy (1817), Waverley (1814), Old Mortality (1816), The Heart of Mid-Lothian (1818), and The Bride of Lammermoor (1819), along with the narrative poems Marmion (1808) and The Lady of the Lake (1810). He had a major impact on European and American literature.

In Public Domain
First Published 1923
Ovi eBook Publishing 2024

The Sequel

Read the eBook it online HERE!
Enjoy viewing & reading it online or download in PDF format HERE!
All eBooks and downloads are FREE!

If you want the book in PDF/epub/mobi format please do contact us.

Leave a comment